• Online Student Transfer Application

    Online Student Transfer Application for 2018-2019

    The deadline to submit a student transfer application for the 2018-2019 school year is June 30, 2018.

    Instructions For Completing The 2018-2019 HCS 

    Applications for transfer are available through the website of the Office of Student Affairs. Subject to the categories below, the parent will submit an online application for transfer to the Executive Director of Student Affairs requesting permission for the child to attend a school outside his/her attendance area. The application shall specify the reason(s) for the request. Hardship cases may include, but are not limited to, the following: a. Lack of an academic course or program within the normal school day in the school to which a student has been assigned; b. After school child care due to: (1) Parent’s work schedule and/or work location; or (2) Lack of afternoon childcare at sending school or in its area; c. Health of child and/or parent; d. Purchase of a lot and planning to build or building a house intended as the parent’s primary residence (proof of purchase must be furnished and if the transfer is approved, evidence indicating substantial progress towards completion must be furnished for an application for transfer to be approved the following year). 

    Complete all sections of the student information section and child care section (if applicable). Please provide only one student name per application, and be very specific in the reason section because, as noted above, transfers are granted on the basis of hardship situations. 

    Read carefully the Conditions of Transfer section before submitting the application. Please make sure you click submit before exiting.

    Once a new student transfer application has been completed, the application will be forwarded to the principal of the school serving your community and to the principal of the school for which you seek a transfer. Principals will approve or disapprove the application. (Once you have submitted your application online you do not need to print it and hand carry it to the other school, the schools will be notified electronically)

    Renewal transfers need not reapply to attend the same school. Parents are responsible for providing transportation for students for elective transfers.

    Principals will approve/deny the application before submitting to the Office of Student Affairs for final determination.

    Parents will be notified by email as to an approval or disapproval. 

    Transfer requests do not have to be submitted for a student to remain in the same school for which his/her transfer request was previously approved as long as he/she meets the same conditions that led to the prior approval. However, a student’s record may be reviewed at the end of each semester and if the student has become chronically truant, exhibits excessive tardiness or displays disruptive disciplinary behavior the transfer may be revoked for the following semester. 

    Due to overcrowding in some schools, transfer requests may not be approved for schools operating at 95% above student capacity; the district classifies these schools as Category I schools. Category I schools for the 2018-2019 school year include:

    Elementary Schools:

    • Aynor Elementary
    • Burgess Elementary
    • Carolina Forest Elementary
    • Conway Elementary
    • Homewood Elementary
    • Lakewood Elementary
    • Ocean Bay Elementary
    • Ocean Drive Elementary
    • Palmetto Bays Elementary
    • Pee Dee Elementary
    • River Oaks Elementary
    • Socastee Elementary
    • St James Elementary
    • Waccamaw Elementary

    Middle Schools:

    • Aynor Middle
    • Conway Middle
    • North Myrtle Beach Middle
    • St James Middle

    High Schools:

    • Myrtle Beach High
    • St James High

    Frequently Used Forms