Board News

  • December 5, 2022

    Board Members James Edwards and Tracy Winters Recognized for Participating in State-Level Training

    James Edwards, Horry County Board of Education District 9 Representative, and Tracy Winters, Horry County Board of Education District 3 Representative, earned recognition by the South Carolina School Boards Association (SCSBA) for achievement in the association’s 2021-2022 Boardmanship Institute. Mr. Edwards and Mrs. Winters each completed Level One within one year and received a certificate for their accomplishments.

    The SCSBA Boardmanship Institute, established in 1982, offers a year-round training curriculum to help board members develop skills and stay abreast of state and national education issues. Workshops focus on school law, advocacy and legislation, improving board operations, leadership for improving student achievement, and other timely topics.

    Statewide, SCSBA recognized 79 school board members for reaching one of six levels for the 2020–2021 year, and each year, about 80 percent of board members statewide attend at least one training session.

    SCSBA is the statewide professional organization serving as a source of information, training, and advocacy for the state’s 77 school district boards, county boards, and state special schools. 

    James Edwards Photo

    Tracy Winters Graphic







  • Janet Graham Recognized for 10 Years of School Board Service

  • Shanda Allen Recognized for Participating in State-Level Training

  • Helen Smith Recognized For 20 Years Of School Board Service

  • Janet Graham Recognized At The SCSBA 2020 Annual Convention