• 5th Grade

    5th Grade

     Megan Coakley: mcoakley@horrycountyschools.net

    This will be my second year teaching 5th grade at OBE! I have previously taught Kindergarten for two years in Arizona. I grew up in Buffalo, NY, and love to go home to visit family anytime I can. When I am not at school you can find me at home hanging out with my family which includes two chocolate labs - we love to get outdoors anytime we can! This school year I am most excited to take advantage of technology and teaching in a new way.

    Kelly Potor: kpotor@horrycountyschools.net

    Hello! I'm Kelly Potor. This is my 8th year at OBE. I have taught fifth grade, third grade, and Reading Intervention. I am from a small town in Northern New Jersey. I received my Bachelors and Masters from Coastal Carolina University. I absolutely love spending time in nature and hiking as often as I can. I am looking forward to the 2020-2021 school year!

    Laurel Dorman: ldorman001@horrycountyschools.net

    My name is Ms. Dorman. I am from Myrtle Beach, SC. I have taught 2nd grade for two years and 5th grade for two years. This will be my fifth year teaching. I love being outside and hanging out with friends and family. I am so excited about this year and I can't wait to meet all of you!

    Lia Holland: lholland@horrycountyschools.net (5th Grade Virtual Teacher)

    I was born and raised in Myrtle Beach and love being able to invest in the same community as an educator. This will be my fourth year teaching 5th grade at Ocean Bay Elementary and I am looking forward to building relationships with students through all modes and models of learning that may occur. In my free time, I love to be outdoors, go on walks, and hang out with my family.

    Clai Piascik: mpiascik@horrycountyschools.net

    My name is Mrs. Piascik. I am a native of Virginia and have lived in Texas, North Carolina, and South Carolina. In my spare time, you will find me traveling with my family, reading or working on a DIY project. This will be my first year teaching 5th grade at OBE. I am so excited to see what our school year holds and to meet our class community!

    Rhonette Courson: rcourson@horrycountyschools.net

    The past 13 years I have taught 3-5 grade. I am from Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina. My teaching journey began at UNCW where I earned my Bachelors in Elementary Education and also competed for their track and field team as a pole vaulter. I later earned my Masters of Instructional Technology from CCU. My husband and I have three wonderful children, a four year old daughter and 5 month old twins. In my spare time my family and I love spending time together outdoors and being active.

    Chelle DeBruhl: cdebruhl@horrycountyschools.net

    Tim Zeltwanger: tzeltwanger@horrycountyschools.net (5th Grade GT Virtual Teacher - Not pictured)

    This is my 17th year teaching in Horry County and my 8th at Ocean Bay Elementary. Although I have mostly taught 5th grade, I am excited to do 3rd grade in a virtual setting this year! My life's journey has taken me up and down the east coast being born in Virginia Beach, living most of my life in Maryland, graduating from Flagler College in Florida, and living here in Myrtle Beach since 2004. In addition to being a NASCAR fan, I am into all things sports related and am a huge fan of Arsenal soccer, Ravens football, Capitals hockey, and anything University of Michigan related. I look forward to continuing building on relationships within the community and hopefully will one day get a chance to teach your child!