Congratulations to our 2023-2024 School-Level Teachers of the Year!

TOY  Banner
  • In November, 2023, 55 Horry County Schools (HCS) teachers were recognized by their peers as the Teacher of the Year for their respective schools and are now eligible to vie for the distinction of being named the HCS Teacher of the Year.

    Ten semifinalists will be chosen by the District’s Teacher of the Year Selection Committee after a review of written applications submitted by school winners. Following a further review of semifinalists’ portfolios and interviews with the committee, the group of semifinalists will narrow to five finalists. One of those five will be named the 2025 HCS Teacher of the Year. 

2023-2024 School-Level Teachers of the Year

  • Academy for the Arts, Science & Technology Yohency Hernandez
    Academy for Technology and Academics Krystal Mante
    Aynor Elementary Hannah Mills
    Aynor High Derek Deremer
    Aynor Middle Shana Dix
    Black Water Middle Osagie Ehigie
    Burgess Elementary Robin Hutchens
    Carolina Forest Elementary Christina Cerone
    Carolina Forest High Randi Aubry
    Conway Elementary Sandra Matthews
    Conway High Brian Lodge
    Conway Middle Thomas Josephson
    Daisy Elementary Nicole Sypher
    Early College High School Kristy Floyd
    Forestbrook Elementary Lisa Ferris
    Forestbrook Middle Rebecca Myers
    Green Sea Floyds Elementary Heather McPherson
    Green Sea Floyds High Mary Sloan
    Green Sea Floyds Middle  Heather Levine
    Homewood Elementary Lisa Lilly
    Kingston Elementary Kimberly Hawk
    Lakewood Elementary Laura Wingard
    Loris Elementary Rebecca Todd
    Loris High Brooke Hall
    Loris Middle Krystal Eaddy
    Midland Elementary Michelle Rabon
    Myrtle Beach Early Childhood Patricia Dubson
    Myrtle Beach Elementary Paul Carboni
    Myrtle Beach High Lauren Pospiech
    Myrtle Beach Middle James Mau
    Myrtle Beach Primary Annie Miller
    North Myrtle Beach High Jennifer Hudson
    North Myrtle Beach Middle Rebecca Kenjerski
    Ocean Bay Elementary Clarissa Pittelli
    Ocean Bay Middle Matthew Harder
    Ocean Drive Elementary Maegan  Severance
    Palmetto Bays Elementary Mindy Marsh
    Pee Dee Elementary Alexandra Tobin
    River Oaks Elementary Jennifer May
    Riverside Elementary Melissa Kane
    Seaside Elementary Kelly Ackerman
    SOAR Academy Ryan Gladney
    Socastee Elementary Katelyn Suggs
    Socastee High Francisco Ghere
    Socastee Middle Nicole Naccarato
    South Conway Elementary Julie Higgs
    St. James Elementary Jaclyn Sears
    St. James High Emily Scheffler
    St. James Intermediate Kirsten Cox
    St. James Middle Chad Hamilton
    Ten Oaks Middle Michael  Tomasko
    Therapeutic Learning Center Anthony Bonura
    Waccamaw Elementary Ellis Johnson
    Waterway Elementary Christina Prince
    Whittemore Park Middle Candice Burroughs
  • 2024 Teacher Of The Year, Emma Lyn Cain

  • 2024 Teacher of the Year Top 5 Finalists

  • 2022-2023 Teacher of the Year Top Ten Semifinalists

  • 2022-2023 School-Level Teachers

  • 2023 HCS Teacher of the Year, Renee Atkinson

  • 2023 Teacher of the Year Top 5 Finalists

  • 2021-2022 Top 10 Teachers of the Year Semifinalist

  • 2021-2022 School-Level Teachers of the Year



About Horry County Schools

  • Horry County Schools is inspiring possibilities for student success through a broad range of unique teaching and learning opportunities.

    Horry (pronounced O-Ree) County Schools is made up of 56 schools within nine attendance areas: Aynor, Carolina Forest, Conway, Green Sea Floyds, Loris, Myrtle Beach, North Myrtle Beach, Socastee, and St. James. Horry County Schools has more than 48,000 students and is South Carolina’s third-largest school district.