National Merit Page Banner

HCS Students Win National Merit Scholarships

  • May 10. 2023

    Three students from Horry County Schools are among the winners of the National Merit $2,500 Scholarship, and they are:

    • Zhong Zhao – Scholars Academy and Aynor High School
    • Tanner Buck – Scholars Academy and St. James High School
    • Gavin Ockert – Scholars Academy and Carolina Forest High School

    National Merit $2500 Scholarship winners are the finalists in each state judged to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills, and potential for success in rigorous college studies. The number of winners named in each state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the nation’s graduating high school seniors.

    These scholars were selected by a committee of college admissions officers and high school counselors, who appraised a substantial amount of information submitted by both the Finalists and their high schools: the academic record, including difficulty level of subjects studied and grades earned; scores from the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®); contributions and leadership in school and community activities; an essay written by the Finalist; and a recommendation written by a high school official.

    The National Merit Scholarship Corporation will announce additional winners in June and July.