Return to Headlines

HCS Announces Top 10 Semifinalists for Teacher of the Year


Ten semifinalists have been chosen from 57 school-level honorees for the Horry County Schools teacher of the year distinction.

Top 10 semifinalists are Mindi Penn, Academy for the Arts, Science & Technology (AAST); April Troglauer, Aynor Middle; Adam Powley, HCS Early College High; Sheila Fry, Green Sea Floyds Middle; Jill Barnes, Loris Middle; Elizabeth Willocks, Loris High; Caroline Kelly, Pee Dee Elementary; Gregory Boos, River Oaks Elementary; Waylon Ross, St. James Middle; and Jacob Scheuer, St. James High.

Following a further review of semifinalists’ portfolios and interviews with the committee, the group of semifinalists will narrow to five finalists. One of the five finalists will be named the 2021 HCS Teacher of the Year in May.

The top 10 semifinalists for Teacher of the Year are:

Penn Troglauer Powley Fry Barnes

Mindi Penn
Academy for the
Arts, Science & Technology

April Troglauer
Aynor Middle

Adam Powley
HCS Early College High

Sheila Fry
Green Sea Floyds Middle

Jill Barnes
Loris Middle




Boos Ross Scheuer

Elizabeth Willocks 
Loris High

Caroline Kelly 
Pee Dee Elementary

Gregory Boos
River Oaks Elementary

Waylon Ross
St. James Middle

Jacob Scheuer 
St. James High


 Posted March 29, 2021