Return to Headlines

HCS announces Teacher of the Year school winners

Fifty-five Horry County Schools (HCS) teachers have been recognized by their peers as the Teacher of the Year for their respective schools and are now eligible to vie for the distinction of being named the HCS Teacher of the Year.

Ten semifinalists will be chosen by the District’s Teacher of the Year Selection Committee after a review of written applications submitted by school winners. Following further review of semifinalists’ portfolios and interviews with the committee, the group of semifinalists will narrow to five finalists. One of those five will be named the 2020-2021 HCS Teacher for the Year at a banquet honoring all winners on May 11, 2020.

School winners are: Jayme Condrey, the Academy for the Arts, Science & Technology; Gina Staub, the Academy for Technology & Academics; Kaitlyn Ryhal, Aynor Elementary; Kim Mendez, Aynor High; Dona Bledsoe, Aynor Middle; Sunni Blanton, Black Water Middle; Sarah Elliott, Burgess Elementary; Janna Padula, Carolina Forest Elementary; Morgan Bane, Carolina Forest High; Sarah Robinson, Conway Elementary; Shanay Clark, Conway High; Leanne Hagen, Conway Middle; Ashley Strickland, Daisy Elementary; Lorelei Rautsaw, HCS Early College High School; Kathy Ray, Forestbrook Elementary; Audrea Phillips, Forestbrook Middle; Pam Kennedy, Green Sea Floyds Elementary; Kyle Klebba, Green Sea Floyds High; Christian Huggins, Green Sea Floyds Middle;

Bernetta Soles, Homewood Elementary; Donald Simmons, Horry County Education Center; April King, Kingston Elementary; Krista Haydt, Lakewood Elementary; Heather Chambers, Loris Elementary; Jodi Cox, Loris High; Daniel Dale, Loris Middle; Tonya Dawsey, Midland Elementary; Chris Mediate, Myrtle Beach Early Childhood School; Jennifer Merritt, Myrtle Beach Elementary; Patricia Sylvester, Myrtle Beach High; Michael McKenzie, Myrtle Beach Middle; Dawn Brezinski, Myrtle Beach Primary; Jennifer Wells, North Myrtle Beach High; Daniel Vigo, North Myrtle Beach Middle;

Gabrielle Mayo, Ocean Bay Elementary; Kelly Livingston, Ocean Bay Middle; Shaun Boehm, Ocean Drive Elementary; Robert Kerson, Palmetto Bays Elementary; Elizabeth Hendrick, Pee Dee Elementary; Tina Medina, River Oaks Elementary; Brittney Baucke, Riverside Elementary; Katie Ford, Seaside Elementary; Katelyn Tobrocke, Socastee Elementary; Devin Weeks, Socastee High; Jamie Carson, Socastee Middle; Paula Collins, South Conway Elementary; Ashley Casey, St. James Elementary; Nicole Mantlo, St. James High; Johnny Warrick, St. James Intermediate; Rebecca Wengel, St. James Middle; Leslie Rich, Ten Oaks Middle; Kevin Rigopoulos, HCS Therapeutic Learning Center; Melissa Duncan, Waccamaw Elementary; Jennifer Snyder, Waterway Elementary; and Faleshia Dozier, Whittemore Park Middle School.