Return to Headlines

Academy for the Arts, Science & Technology students win We the People state championship; advance to national competition

AAST, win we the people state The We the People Competition Team from the Academy for the Arts, Science & Technology (AAST) won the We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution state championship and will compete for the national title on April 24-27 in Washington, D.C.

We the People is one of many instructional programs and competitive events sponsored by the South Carolina Bar’s Law-Related Education Division. The program enhances students' understanding of the institutions of American constitutional democracy while also discovering the contemporary relevance of the Constitution and Bill of Rights. The culminating activity is a simulated congressional hearing in which students "testify" before a panel of judges. Students demonstrate their knowledge and understanding of constitutional principles and have opportunities to evaluate, take, and defend positions on relevant historical and contemporary issues.

AAST’s We the People team members are: Kennedy Smith, Dillon Prince, Hannah Beam, Kathleen Boyle, Emily Eaton, Hannah Ferguson, Bianca Gawencki, Nora Gore, Jazmine Lara, Ana Caroline Phillips, Michael Ritter, Gabriel Russell, Alex Sobota, Patrick Priore, and Emma Ann Lay. The team’s coach is Robert DeCerbo.