Return to Headlines

Finalists named for HCS Rookie Teacher of the Year

Horry County Schools is one step closer in determining the district winner in its inaugural Rookie Teacher of the Year recognition program. Launched this year through support from the College Football Playoff Foundation in partnership with Coastal Carolina University, the Rookie Teacher of the Year program is designed to recognize and celebrate teachers within the first three years of their careers. Finalists were chosen from 36 school-level winners. The district’s first Rookie Teacher of the Year will be announced later this year.

Finalists are:

Hannah Mills
Aynor Elementary
Chloe Jones
Green Sea Floyds High
Sarah Hall
Myrtle Beach Elementary
Lia Holland
Ocean Bay Elementary
Alexis Karnes
Socastee High