Return to Headlines

Five HCS seniors earn National Merit $2,500 Scholarships

In the second of a series of announcements from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), five Horry County Schools seniors were named winners of National Merit $2,500 Scholarships.   

District winners and their probable career fields are listed below:

  • Ryan Bao, the Scholars Academy and Carolina Forest High School, engineering;
  • Kaitlyn Grace Rielly, the Scholars Academy and Carolina Forest High School, biology;
  • William A. Truluck, the Scholars Academy and Myrtle Beach High School, biology;
  • Lexington A. Whalen, St. James High School, biological engineering; and
  • Thomas C. Young, St. James High School, bioengineering.
Ryan Bao
Kaitlyn Grace Rielly
William A. Truluck
Lexington A. Whalen
Thomas C. Young

Earlier this year, 12 HCS seniors were named Finalists in the 65th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. In April, Henry Hein of the Scholars Academy and Carolina Forest High School was named a corporate-sponsored National Merit Scholar. Additional announcements regarding college-sponsored National Merit Scholarships are expected in June and July.

By the conclusion of the 2020 program, approximately 7,600 finalists will have earned the National Merit Scholar distinction and collectively received more than $31 million in college scholarships. The majority of scholarships offered each year are underwritten by approximately 400 independent corporate and college sponsors that share NMSC’s goals of honoring scholastically talented youth and encouraging academic excellence at all levels of education.

Eligibility for the National Merit Scholarship Program is initially determined by student performance on the PSAT/NMSQT, taken during the junior year of high school.