Return to Headlines

Janet Graham elected as SCSBA Region 4 Director

Janet Graham, Horry County Board of Education District 7 representative, was elected as Region 4 Director of the South Carolina School Boards Association (SCSBA) during the association’s annual Delegate Assembly held Saturday, December 4, in Charleston.

Graham was appointed to the Horry County Board of Education in September 2012 and was elected in November 2014. She has served on several Board Committees to include finance, curriculum, and facilities. She earned Level 6 recognition, the highest level of recognition in the SCSBA Boardmanship Institute in 2020.

The association’s annual business meeting, which was held as part of the association’s Legislative Advocacy Conference, included voting delegates from most of the state’s 77 school boards. In addition to the election of association officers, delegates adopted resolutions to guide the association during the 2022 legislative session and approved proposed changes to the SCSBA Constitution and Bylaws.

In addition to Graham, other officers and regional directors elected to lead the association on the board of directors are as follows:

  • President, Jamie Devine, Richland One
  • President-elect, Gail Hughes, Dorchester Two
  • Secretary/Treasurer, Michele Branning, Fort Mill Schools
  • Region 1 Director, Patricia Simmons, Colleton County School District
  • Region 5 Director, Ervin Richardson, Florence 5 School District
  • Region 9 Director, Anne Marie Green, Lexington One
  • Region 13 Director, Robin Owens, Rock Hill Schools

The South Carolina School Boards Association is a non-profit organization serving as a source of information and a statewide voice for boards governing the state’s 77 school districts.