Return to Headlines

Horry County Announces the Top 10 Semi-Finalists for Teacher of the Year

Conway, South Carolina – Horry County Schools is proud to announce the top 10 semi-finalists for Teacher of the Year.

The top ten semi-finalist teachers were chosen from among fifty-six other nominees from our schools. The ten semi-finalists will be individually interviewed by a committee and then pared down to five finalists in March.

The five finalist will be individually interviewed by a committee made up of administrators, principals and former teachers of the year. During the final phase of the program they will be required to show how they have used data and strategies to ensure academic growth in their classrooms.

A winner will be selected and announced in April.

The top 10 semi-finalists for Teacher of the Year are:

Terry Filippo

Elizabeth Martire Tracy Stroud Shannon Jesequel Jamie Church

Terry Filippo
Academy for the Arts, Science
& Technology 

Elizabeth Martire
Black Water Middle 

Tracy Stroud
Carolina Forest High 

Shannon Jesequel
Conway Elementary 

Jamie Church
Myrtle Beach High


Kristen Giraldi

Jody Rabon

Sheila Toth Jennifer Zhang Henry Wortley

Kristen Giraldi
North Myrtle Beach High

Jody Rabon
Pee Dee Elementary

Sheila Toth
River Oaks Elementary

Jennifer Zhang
Scholars Academy

Henry Wortley
St. James High